How tall are the peaks in Patagonia?

What are the mountains called in Patagonia?

Patagonia (Spanish pronunciation: [pataˈɣonja]) refers to a geographical region that encompasses the southern end of South America, governed by Argentina and Chile. The region comprises the southern section of the Andes Mountains, lakes, fjords, and glaciers in the west and deserts, tablelands and steppes to the east.

How high up is Patagonia?

Patagonia – a region covering almost half a continent and about 800000 km2. It is the southern part of South America, approximately south of Monte San Lorenzo (around 47°S), covering southern parts of Chile and Argentina.

The Patagonian Andes.

Peak name altitude (m)
Cerro Murallón 2831
Cerro Grande 2804

How old is the Torres del Paine?

By human standards, the mountains of Cordillera del Paine are quite old. But compared to the Rocky Mountains (up to 70 million years old), and the Appalachians (480 million years), the Cordillera del Paine are very young—only about 12 million years old.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  What is Inca pottery?